St John Paul College offers a comprehensive and accessible curriculum encompassing a broad range of subjects and courses that prepare students for the world in which they live.

We are committed to developing strategies that ensure the curriculum caters to the wide range of needs, abilities and interests of our students across all Key Learning Areas.

Stage 4 - Years 7 and 8

Students in Years 7 and 8 study a common curriculum comprising Religious Education, English, Mathematics, Science, Technology, History, Geography, Personal Development, Health and Physical Education (PDHPE), Music and Visual Arts. In Year 8, Japanese is introduced into the curriculum.

Stage 5 - Years 9 and 10

As students move into Year 9, they continue to develop their knowledge and skills in courses that are compulsory requirements for progression, with the addition of elective subjects.
Core Curriculum consists of Religious Education, English, Mathematics, Science, PDHPE, History and Geography.
Students also select 2 x 200-hour courses for study in Years 9 and 10, as well as 1 x 100-hour course for study in Year 9 only.

The Record of School Achievement (RoSA) is the first academic credential that students are eligible to receive. This credential is available at the end of Year 10, 11 and 12, through the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA).

Stage 6 - Years 11 and 12

Students must complete at least 12 units of preliminary courses and ten units of HSC courses to receive the HSC, which must include 2 units of English and at least 1 unit of Studies of Religion or Catholic Studies.


Assessment Books 

Assessment Calendars

Assessment Policies - updated 2023

Curriculum Forms

Related Websites

NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA)

Diocese of Lismore Vocational Education and Training (VET)


HSC Minimum Standards

"I am the Way, the Truth and the Life"  (John 14:6)

St John Paul College, Coffs Harbour