Staff

The staff at St John Paul College are committed to providing excellent educational opportunities that promote gospel teachings and the Catholic faith.

With supportive and enthusiastic teachers, St John Paul College is dedicated to the provision of quality education. The College strives for excellence in its education program by providing a safe and inspiring learning environment, coupled with a stimulating and challenging curriculum.

In recognising the value of student choice and the tremendous benefits gained from active and involved students, the staff at St John Paul College are committed to providing a nurturing environment for our young men and women to enjoy a successful and memorable Catholic high school experience.

Staff Obligations

Staff in Catholic Schools in the Diocese of Lismore have significant obligations as Mandatory Reporters for the safety, welfare and wellbeing of children and young people. A Mandatory Reporter is a person who, due to the nature of their employment, must report any concern regarding the safety, welfare or wellbeing of a child. This means that they must report any issue that they suspect, on reasonable grounds, that a child is at risk of significant harm to the school Principal, who will take the required action. More detailed information can be found on the school website in the Child Protection Policy and Procedures document.

College Executive and Leadership Team
Name Position Email
Michael Carniato Principal michael.carniato@lism.catholic.edu.au 
Michael Stubbs Assistant Principal - Pastoral Care michael.stubbs@lism.catholic.edu.au
James Furey Assistant Principal - Learning and Teaching james.furey@lism.catholic.edu.au 
Leanne Gennat Assistant Principal - Mission leanne.gennat@lism.catholic.edu.au
Janine Sawtell Leader of School Evangelisation janine.sawtell@lism.catholic.edu.au 
Sarah de Byl Leader of Catechesis sarah.debyl@lism.catholic.edu.au 
Claudia Brown Leader of Curriculum claudia.brown@lism.catholic.edu.au 
Louise Maybury Leader of Pedagogy louise.maybury@lism.catholic.edu.au 
Richard O'Connor Leader of Student Engagement richard.oconnor@lism.catholic.edu.au 
Sharon Brennan Teacher Librarian/Leader of Learning Technologies sarah.brennan@lism.catholic.edu.au 

Leaders of Learning
Name Position Email
Paul Corsalini Careers paul.corsalini@lism.catholic.edu.au
Siobhan McCosker English siobhan.mccokser@lism.catholic.edu.au
Cherie O'Brien English Assistant cherie.obrien@lism.catholic.edu.au
Megan Henry History megan.henry@lism.catholic.edu.au
Amanda Martin HSIE amanda.martin@lism.catholic.edu.au
Kirsten Binnie Languages kirsten.binnie@lism.catholic.edu.au
Maree McKelvie Literacy Coach maree.mckelvie@lism.catholic.edu.au
Steve Verbruggen Mathematics steve.verbruggen@lism.catholic.edu.au
Carolyn King Mathematics Assistant carolyn.king@lism.catholic.edu.au
Mark Hoare Music and Drama mark.hoare@lism.catholic.edu.au
Kurt Marle PDHPE kurt.marle@lism.catholic.edu.au
Will Gregson PDHPE Assistant will.gregson@lism.catholic.edu.au
Nick Burke Science nick.burke@lism.catholic.edu.au
Sally Poidevin Science Assistant sally.poidevin@lism.catholic.edu.au
Sarah Corsalini Inclusion & Diversity sarah.corsalini@lism.catholic.edu.au
Sarah Coates Technological and Applied Studies sarah.coates@lism.catholic.edu.au
Michelle Verbruggen Technology and Applied Studies Assistant michelle.verbruggen@lism.catholic.edu.au
Vicki Foggiato Visual Arts vicki.foggiato@lism.catholic.edu.au
Jo-Anne Benten VET jo-anne.benten@lism.catholic.edu.au
Danielle McAra Sport Leader danielle.mcara@lism.catholic.edu.au
Leaders of Student Wellbeing
Name Position Email
Alana Johnson Year 7 alana.johnson@lism.catholic.edu.au
Mark Sultana Year 8 mark.sultana@lism.catholic.edu.au
Mark Coster Year 9 mark.coster@lism.catholic.edu.au
Anthony Abbotts Year 10 tony.abbotts@lism.catholic.edu.au
Nick Haworth Year 11 nick.haworth@lism.catholic.edu.au
Trish Furey Year 12 trish.furey@lism.catholic.edu.au
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

"I am the Way, the Truth and the Life"  (John 14:6)

St John Paul College, Coffs Harbour